Child Care Provider Search

Welcome! Use the search options below to search for State registered; State licensed or State unregulated child care providers in South Dakota communities. After making your selections, a provider list will generate. If you would like to view a list of programs that hold a National or other accreditation, view Accredited Programs.

If your child care provider is an informal provider (cares only for your children), you can view their inspection and compliance information by typing in their provider id number below. If you no longer have their provider id number, please contact your caseworker.

In order to view inspection and compliance information for a program closed within the past three years, please use the Closed Provider Search.

If you need additional information about a child care provider, please refer to the appropriate Licensing District.

If you would like information about choosing childcare, contact your local Early Childhood Enrichment Site or view the Child Care Aware website.

Search by provider name or provider number

?
The Provider Number is a provider's License or Registration number and is located on the provider's Child Care License or Registration.
  
 
  • Search by provider type

  •   
  •  
  • State Licensed/Registered Provider Type:
  •   
    ?
    Registered Family Day Care (capacity 1-12): South Dakota law defines a Registered Family Day Care as one in which care is given on a regular basis for any part of a 24-hour day to 12 or less children from more than one unrelated family. This includes any children under the age of six who are living in the home. No more than four of the 12 children in a Registered Family Day Care may be under two years of age; and of those four children, no more than two may be under one year of age. Registered Family Day Care is a service provided in the provider’s home. Registration is a voluntary process where the applicants declare their intent to provide family child care and agree to comply with standards that have been established by the Department of Social Services. Registration is legally mandated when a provider receives compensation from public funds.
  •   
    ?
    Licensed Group Family Day Care (capacity 13-20): South Dakota law defines a Licensed Group Family Day Care as a facility providing child care for a part of a day as a supplement to regular parental care for 13 to 20 children from more than one family, including the provider’s own children who are under the age of six years. A Licensed Group Family Day Care may be located in the provider’s own home or in a separate facility. Licensed Group Family Day Cares are mandated by law to be licensed regardless of funding source.
  •   
    ?
    Licensed Day Care Center (capacity 21 or more): South Dakota law defines a Licensed Day Care Center as a facility providing child care for a part of a 24-hour day to 21 or more children from one or more unrelated families, including the provider’s own children under the age of six years, regardless of the source of income. A Licensed Day Care Center may be located in the provider’s own home or in a separate facility. Licensed Day Care Centers are mandated by law to be licensed regardless of funding source. A Licensed Day Care Center may be operated as a nonprofit organization or as an independent, proprietary facility.
  •   
    ?
    Licensed Before and After School Program: Licensed Before and After School Programs provide care and supervision before and after school hours for children who are five years of age or older and enrolled in school. Programs serve only school-age children and may be providing care for either part of a day or full-time during school breaks or in the summer months and are required to become licensed regardless of the funding source or location of the program. The exemption to this requirement is if the after-school program is providing educational or recreational activities for children who come and go at their own discretion.
  •  
  • State Unregulated Provider Type:
  •   
    ?
    Unregulated Family Day Care (capacity 1-12): State Unregulated Family Day Care Homes have the option of being registered with the South Dakota Department of Social Services, but are not able to receive child care assistance payments or other federal funds unless they become State Registered. State Unregulated providers are not required to meet any State or Federal standards.

Search by provider location

  
  
  
 

The posted information is provided as a public convenience only and is not intended to serve as a source of official information. Although Licensing attempts to ensure the accuracy of the information listed, the official records are those in the offices of Licensing. Licensing makes no warranty, either express or implied, as to the accuracy or completeness of the data. Child Care Programs in pending status are not listed, and recent changes in a program's status may not be posted immediately. Persons wishing current, official information may refer to the appropriate Licensing District.